The Certified Global Business Analyst (CGBA®) is the premier global business analysis designation that recognises a unique group of corporate analysts who have reached the highest benchmark of quality and competence in strategic business analysis. The CGBA designation distinguishes professionals who have advanced proficiency in strategy, marketing, supply-chain, finance, valuation, operations, and management. The CGBA designation is built on extensive global research to maintain the highest relevance with employers and to develop the competencies in business analysis that is most in demand.

ICMA has recognised that there are senior managers who are not interested in becoming management accountants. As such it introduced a new certified qualification; the Certified Global Business Analyst (CGBA)® for those interested in finance and business analysis, but not interested in continuing further to become CMAs.

The CGBA designation is backed by the International Management Accounting Collaborative (IMAC), a global network of management accounting and finance professionals. The Institute of Certified Management Accountants (Australia & New Zealand) is a founder member of IMAC.

Entry Requirements

The CGBA qualification is tailored to senior managers. The entry requirement is a degrees or professional qualifications in any business field (i.e. marketing, management, finance, banking, accounting etc.) with 5-years of business experience OR senior managers with over 10 years of business experience.

ICMA Membership Requirement

The CGBA is a Certification program (not an ICMA Membership grade). As such, to be eligible to hold the CGBA certification, ICMA membership is also required (at either the FCMA, CMA, AMA, GMA, RBA, RCA, CAT or MAA levels), and must be maintained during the period of certification. The Management Accounting Affiliate (MAA) membership of ICMA is an open membership for all individuals (accountants or not) and is free. If you are not a member of ICMA; then join at least as an MAA.

Certification Requirements

To obtain the Certified Global Business Analyst (CGBA) professional qualification, participants undertake only the Strategic Business Analysis (SBA) module of the CMA preparatory program.

The assessments done are the case studies within the Strategic Business Analysis (SBA) course module, and an Assignment that must be submitted after the course is completed which costs A$55.

An Assignment is not required for those holding the CMA-level certification, as they already would have been assessed in the SBA course.

Certification Fees

The fee for the CGBA certification is A$ 150 for three years use of the post-nominals CGBA. If you are not already a ICMA member, note that the A$150 CGBA fee includes MAA membership for 3-years.

For new members, please note that there is an once-off Application Fee and Joining Fee, in addition to the annual Membership Fee.


STEP 1: undertake the Strategic Business Analysis (SBA) module

STEP 2: Submit Assignment (and Pass)

STEP 3: Join ICMA by paying an Application Fee of A$99 and a Joining fee of $198 (once-off).

STEP 4: The fee for the CGBA certification is A$ 150 for three years use of the post-nominals CGBA. (this also includes the Management Accounting Affiliate (MAA) membership fee for 3-years).

If you are already a ICMA member, please ensure that you have your ICMA (Australia) membership number with you prior to filling the CGBA Certification application form. This number is in your membership certificate in one of the following two formats:



Download CGBA Certification application here.


  1. If a Non-Accounting Degree Holder is interested in becoming a Certified Management Accountant (CMA) he/she has to first undertake the 4-subject GMA Conversion Program(Financial Modelling, Management Accounting; Financial Management and Financial Statement Analysis) prior to attending the 2-Module CMA preparatory program.
  2. If an accounting degree holder or a holder of an accounting professional qualification (e.g. CA, CPA, CIMA, ACCA) or MBA* obtains a CGBA; and then wishes to continue to get the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) qualification; he/she must also complete the first CMA Module; i.e. the Strategic Cost management (SCM) module; and sit for the assessments (Exams/Assignments) for both SCM and SBA modules.

*The MBA degree must be from an accredited or government recognised University provided the applicant had been admitted to the MBA program after completing an undergraduate degree in any discipline or had an equivalent recognised professional qualification AND done the subjects Financial Management and Management Accounting (or equivalent) as part of their MBA degree program. Those who were admitted to their MBA program based on experience only, will need to submit their CV to ICMA to evaluate if they can be admitted to the CMA program.