The ICMA has entered into Strategic Alliances and Mutual Recognition Agreements with select professional bodies with a similar vision to the profession.

In general, members of all recognised professional bodies; and those with a Rating 1 category given by the Australian Education Credentials Standards Agency (AECSA); are eligible to join the Institute at the GMA (no experience) and AMA (3 years’ experience) membership categories. If such individuals desire the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) professional credentials; then they need to undertake the CMA program and have it total 5 years of recognised work experience. The CMA program can be undertaken at an Accredited University; or Recognised Provider Institution or Online via Zoom or Self-study.

Members of professional accounting bodies that have entered into Strategic Alliances and Mutual Recognition Agreements with ICMA, have special arrangements in place that enable them to obtain AMA and CMA membership via different pathways.

Currently, Mutual Recognition Agreements exist with the following organisations:

Please click on page links to see details of membership pathways.

Strategic Alliances – Universities

The Institute of Certified Management Accountants (ICMA) and the universities listed below have signed Memorandum of Understandings (MOUs) to engage in the mutual collaboration of research and practices on management accounting. Opportunities for collaboration are in the following areas:

  • Collaboration in terms of the refereeing of articles submitted for publication in the ICMA Journal.
  • Promoting the symposiums/conferences/seminars of ICMA and the university.
  • Providing free ‘student memberships’ for 3 years for the university’s accounting/finance undergraduate students.
  • Providing free ‘Graduate Management Accountant (GMA) memberships’ for 2 years for the university’s accounting/finance post-graduate students.
  • Other activities that contribute to the research and professional development between ICMA and the university.

Diponegoro University of Semarang

Hasanuddin University

Mercu Buana University

Politeknik Negeri Malang, Indonesia

State University of Malang

STIE Asia Malang, Indonesia

STIE Dewantara Jombang, Indonesia

STIE Widyagama Lumajang, Indonesia

Uniuersitas Widyagama Malang, Indonesia

Univasitas Muhammadiya Jember, Indonesia

Universitas lslam Malang Indonesia

Universitas Negeri Jember, Indonesia

Universitas Negeri Surabaya, Indonesia

Universitas of Ciputra, Surabaya, Indonesia

Universitas Pelita Harapan Medan

Universitas Yudharta Pasuruan, Indonesia

University of Merdeka Malang

University of Trisakti

University of Udayana

YKPN School of Economics Yogyakarta

Xavier University Bhubaneswar

St. Xavier’s University, Kolkata

Strategic Alliances – Regional Professional Bodies

The ICMA has entered into Memorandum of Understanding with select regional professional bodies to strengthen cooperation between the two sides in professional development and professional community in the Region.

Chartered Accountants of Indonesia – Solo (IAI)

Chartered Accountants of Indonesia – Malang (IAI)